diy drum shade

Not much going on here, new computer, sister got in to college, hurricane Isaac; you know the usual. Since school has been closed until Thursday I seem to have a little time on my hands. Finally! So I can tell y’all about my new favorite project.

I have been meaning to fix up the lighting fixtures in our house since we moved in.  So thanks to the wonderful pinterest I found some inspiration right before I had a bunch of people over.  A diy drum shade that you can place right over the fixture itself. I got tons of compliments. What do you think:

 Image

It was actually really easy to do and only took about an hour for both. All I needed was fabric, two wooden embroidery hoops, hot glue, poster board, and  eye screws.

I found the tutorial here . But I did a few things different. First off I didn’t use ribbon or make a diffuser. I just glued the fabric to the inside of the embroidery hoop and for the diffuser I just glued a thin muslin over the other embroidery hoop. You may want to use the diffuser if you plan on using the fixture a lot. We don’t use ours too much.  Here is the other one in the kitchen:

Image

 

I also hand painted some wooden letters from hobby lobby to match the chevron shade in the kitchen. Another really easy project. Just buy some thin wooden letters, paint (maybe to match your very own drum shade) and a chevron stencil (I just printed a chevron pattern and cut it out). Enjoy!

Image

One thought on “diy drum shade

  1. Pingback: Pinterest Challenge: Or, OMG I Planned Ahead! | i'm a transplant from california

Leave a Reply

